Saturday, June 25, 2011

Sachin meets Federer at Wimbledon

India’s Icon Sachin Tendulkar and world number 3 tennis player Roger Federer came face to face on Saturday.

                      Kindle, Wi-Fi, Graphite, 6" Display with New E Ink Pearl Technology - includes Special Offers & Sponsored Screensavers                                                                                            

Sachin, along with wife Anjali, was present in the Wimbledon Royal Box to watch Federer’s third round match against David Nalbandian.

They both met each other after the match and shared a few light moments. The meeting lasted for an hour.

Sachin, a regular visitor at the Wimbledon Championships every year, tweeted after the meeting: 

Kindle, Wi-Fi, Graphite, 6" Display with New E Ink Pearl Technology

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Fixtures for Domestic Tournaments 2011-12 season

The Tour, Programmes and Fixtures Committee of the BCCI finalized the dates of the various domestic tournaments for the 2011-12 season, in a meeting at the Cricket Centre on Saturday, 18 June 2011.

The BCCI Corporate Tournament for the Raj Singh Dungarpur Trophy will be played from 1 September to 8 September, in Vishakhapatnam, Chennai and Bengaluru.

Jaipur will host the Irani Cup game between Rajasthan, Ranji Trophy winners in the previous season, and the Rest Of India, from 1 October to 5 October. 

The NKP Salve Challenger Trophy will be played at Nagpur from 10 October to 13 October. 

The league stage of the Ranji Trophy (Elite) will be played from 3 November to 24 December. The groupings are as follows:

Elite A (eight teams) – Rajasthan, KSCA, Mumbai, Railways, UPCA, Punjab, Saurashtra, Orissa.

Elite B (seven teams) – Baroda, TNCA, Haryana, Delhi, Gujarat, Bengal, MPCA.

The knockout matches will be played from 2 January 2012 to 23 January 2012. 

The Ranji Trophy Plate group matches will be played from 3 November to 9 December. The semi-finals will be played from 21 December to 24 December. The winners of the semi-finals will qualify for the knockout stage of the Ranji Trophy.  

Groups – Ranji Trophy Plate: 

Plate A – Andhra, Services, Kerala, Vidarbha, HPCA, Tripura.

Plate B – Maharashtra, Goa, Hyderabad, Jharkhand, Assam, Jammu and Kashmir.

The Duleep Trophy will be played from 27 January 2012 to 16 February 2012. 

The inter-state one-day league will be played from 20 February 2012 to 28 February 2012. 

The All-India inter-state knockout tournament for the Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played from 5 March 2012 to 12 March 2012. 

The Deodhar Trophy will be played from 16 March 2012 to 19 March 2012.

The inter-state T20 zonal league will be played in September-October 2011. The All-India inter-state T20 knockout tournament for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, will be played from 23 March 2012 to 27 March 2012.

The exact dates and venues of all the tournaments will be announced next month, after each association / zone confirms its venues. 

HDMI Cable 2M (6 Feet)

NatWest Women's T20 Quadrangular Series in England: Australia beat India by 8 wickets

Australia registered a thumping eight-wicket victory over India in the first match of the NatWest Women's T20 Quadrangular Series at Toby Howe Cricket Ground, Billericay to begin the series on a winning note. 
The tournament that also involves England and New Zealand pits the four nations together in a T20, followed by an ODI, series in a bid to earn the No. 1 position in women’s cricket.
Opting to field first in the series opener, Australia bowled India for 62 in 18.2 overs.
Pacer Clea Smith set the ball rolling, sending back openers Poonam Raut and Anagha Deshpande early.  Sarah Coyte then followed with the key wicket of Mithali Raj. It was all downhill from there for India. Batting at No. 4, Harmanpreet Kaur tried to salvage the innings with 41 runs off 49 balls with three boundaries and two sixes. The rest of the batting line-up failed to even make five runs each. The second highest score, six runs, came in the form of extras. As many as four batsmen were out for zero.
Giving away only five runs in four overs and claiming four wickets, Coyte was the pick of the bowlers for Australia.   
Chasing 63 runs to win, Australia reached their target comfortably for the loss of two wickets.  Australian opener Leah Poultan remained unbeaten on 31 runs and along with Meg Lanning (23 runs) helped Australia reach their target in just 10.2 overs.
Brief scores: India  62 all out in 18.2 overs (Harmanpreet Kaur 41, Sarah Coyte 4/5, S Nitschke 2/10, C Smith 2/ 16) lost to Australia 63/2 in 10.2 overs (Leah Poultan 31*, Meg Lanning 23) by 8 wickets

On the other hand, England Women made it two one-sided matches on the opening day of the quadrangular series with a comfortable eight-wicket victory over New Zealand Women at Chelmsford.

England's spinners proved a key weapon, as Holly Colvin and Laura Marsh shared five wickets, while Aaron Brindle marked her return to international cricket with 3 for 11. Needing barely four-an-over for victory England had few problems during their chase as captain Charlotte Edwards led the way with an unbeaten 40.

Brief scores: England Women 86 for 2 (Edwards 40*) beat New Zealand 83 (Colvin 3-17) by eight wickets