Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Sachin Tendulkar wins ICC Cricketer of the Year & People`s Choice Award at ICC Awards 2010

India's cricketing icon Sachin Tendulkar named Cricketer of the Year at the prestigious LG ICC Awards, held at a glittering ceremony in Bengaluru.
Tendulkar was also named as the first recipient of the inaugural LG People's Choice Award and was named in both the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.
Tendulkar was joined on the winners' list by team-mate Virender Sehwag, who took the Test Player of the Year award while South Africa batsman AB de Villiers was named ODI Player of the Year. England's Steven Finn claimed his first ever ICC award when he was named Emerging Player of the Year.
During the period under consideration for the award - August 24, 2009 to August 10, 2010 - Tendulkar scored 1064 runs at an average of 81.84 in ten Tests. He made 914 runs in 17 ODIs at 65.28, and also scored the format's first double-century against South Africa in Gwalior.
Tendulkar also received the People's Choice Award.
Brendon McCullum, the New Zealand batsman, won the award for the best Twenty20 Performance of the Year for his 116 not out against Australia in Christchurch in February
Netherlands allrounder Ryan ten Doeschate won the Associate Player of the Year award.

New Zealand won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award for the second time in row and the third time overall. Aleem Dar, the Pakistani umpire, also won the Umpire of the Year Award for the second time in a row.
Rachel Heyhoe-Flint, the former England women's captain, was the first woman cricketer inducted into the ICC's Hall of Fame, while Shelley Nitschke, the Australian allrounder, was the Woman Cricketer of the Year.

MS Dhoni was named captain of the Test team of the year, which included Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Swann, Tendulkar, Amla, Simon Katich, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis, James Anderson and Doug Bollinger.
Ricky Ponting was captain of the ODI team of the year, leading a side comprising Tendulkar, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, de Villiers, Paul Collingwood, Dhoni, Daniel Vettori, Stuart Broad, Bollinger and Ryan Harris.

No comments: