Wednesday, December 8, 2010

MI retain Tendulkar, Harbhajan, Pollard, Malinga

Mumbai Indians have informed the BCCI-owned Indian Premier League that they were retaining four players Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh,
West Indian Kieron Pollard and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga for the next two seasons. 

The MI official also claimed that the franchisees have the option of retaining more than one foreigner in their squad as per the decision of the IPL governing council on retention of players.

A media release issued by the BCCI over player retention after the meeting of the IPL GC on September 5 stated: "Up to including four players per franchise may be signed for retention of which only up to three shall be Indian players. The Player must have been included in the franchise's registered squad for the 2010 season.

As a result of MI's decision to retain all four players as permitted, the franchise will have only $4.5 million at their disposal for buying the remaining members for 2011 and 2012 at next month's player auction as its salary cap has been halved.

The player contract will be for a period of two years plus one year right of extension by franchise, as per the decision of the IPL's governing council.

No comments: