Monday, June 14, 2010


One day to go for most awaited tournament of Asians, the four giants (i.e. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh) of Asian cricket will compete in the 10th edition of Asia Cup from 15th June onwards.

India along with Sri Lanka has lifted the Asia cup the most times (four). India appeared in every final apart from the 1986 (India pulled out due to strained cricketing relations with Sri Lanka), 1993 (when it was cancelled due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan) and 2000 cups. Sri Lanka, however, have appeared in every final since the cup's inception.

This tenth edition is to be held in Sri Lanka for the forth time in 2010. It will only feature the four Test playing Asian nations, and only seven matches will be played.To be held from 15 June till the 24th.

Teams and schedule for the four-nation Asia Cup limited-overs tournament starting in Dambulla on June 15:

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag (vice-capt), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Saurabh Tiwary.

 Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt (vice-capt), Imran Farhat, Shahzaib Hasan, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Muttiah Muralitharan (vice-capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welegedara, Lasith Malinga, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Thilina Kandamby.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo.

June 15: Sri Lanka vs Pakistan
June 16: India vs Bangladesh
June 18: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
June 19: Pakistan vs India
June 21: Pakistan vs Bangladesh
June 22: India vs Sri Lanka
June 24: Final
June 25: Reserve day 

All the teams have a decent combination of youth and experience cricketers. Indian side rested Sachin Tendulkar, SI drop their legend Jayasurya and Pakistan surprise everyone by selecting Shoaib Akhtar, he seems to be fully fit this time.

This would be a tough competition for everyone, lets see what will happen.

1 comment:

asia cup blogspot said...

The teams which are participating in Asia cup are strong and make the interest in Cricketing world, so the make between Pak, Ind and Srilanka will be very entertaining.
so watch live and give the comments on