Sunday, June 27, 2010

Sharad Pawar to take over as ICC President on July 1

Former BCCI chief Sharad Pawar will take over as International Cricket Council President on July 1, becoming the second Indian, after Jagmohan Dalmiya, to occupy the top post.

Dalmiya was the first Indian to be elected for the post, in 1997

He will succeed Englishman David Morgan, who concludes his two-year term at the end of the week, the governing body said in a statement.

Dalmiya was the first Indian to be elected for the post, in 1997. 

The annual conference week begins today with the Chief Executives Committee (CEC) meeting and the ICC Executive Board will discuss the nomination of former Australian Prime Minister John Howard for the role of ICC Vice-President.

The agenda of the CEC meeting is the subject of the Future Tours Programme 2012-20, in particular the introduction of greater context and content for international cricket which has been under consideration by a working group consisting David Collier (England and Wales), Nishantha Ranatunga (Sri Lanka), N Srinivasan (India), James Sutherland (Australia) and David Richardson (ICC General Manager Cricket).

The ICC Associate and Affiliate members will nominate their ICC Executive Board Director representatives, who serve a two-year, at their meeting on 28th June 2010.

The Schedule of the Week is:

Chief Executive Committee: 27 and 28 June

Associate Members: 28 June

ICC Executive Board: 29 and 30 June

IDI Board: 30 June

Annual Conference: 1 July 

No comments: