Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Mar 23, 2009 to Mar 29, 2009

Indian in New Zealand-2009:
Hamilton Test(1st match):
1st Innings:
NZL 279 (78.2)
2nd Innings:
NZL 279 (102.3)
1st Innings:
IND 520 (152.4)
2nd Innings:
IND 39/0 (5.2)
India beat New Zealand by 10 wickets
Man of the match: Sachin Tendulkar
Defiant innings’ from Daniel Flynn, battling injury, and Brendon McCullum, and a frustrating 100-minute ninth wicket partnership only delayed the inevitable. Harbhajan Singh registered his best figures in overseas Tests – 6 for 63 – to help bowl out New Zealand for 279 – just as many as they had got in the first innings, and India were given a eagre fourth innings target of 39 which Gautam Gambhir and Rahul Dravid, who surprised one and all by opening the innings, scored off in 5.2 overs to register a convincing 10-wicket win – their first win in New Zealand in 33 years.
  • Sachin scored 160 in the first innings.
  • Ryder(102) and vettori(118) scored a century in first innings for New zealand.
Napier 2nd test:
1st Innings:
NZL 619/9 dec (154.4)
1st Innings:
IND 305 (93.5)
2nd Innings:
IND 476/4 (180.0)
New Zealand drew with India
Man of the match: Jesse Ryder
The Indian batting line-up, considered one of the best batting line-ups in world cricket, on Monday showed they were not only about elegance and flamboyance. When the situation demanded, like it did on Monday, they showed they were prepared to drop anchor, dig in there and call in all their resolve not to do anything fancy. As a result of the Indian batsmen bringing to the fore all the above mentioned qualities, India – in arrears by 62 runs at the start of the day – managed to comfortably save the Napier Test match and head to Wellington with a 1-0 lead.
  • Taylor(151),Ryder(201) and B. McCullam(115) scored centuries in the 1st innings for New zealand.
  • Gambhir(137) and Laxman(124) scored centuries in the 2nd innings for India.
  • Sachin scored 49 and 64 for India.


South Africa to host IPL 2 :

South Africa will play host to the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 extravaganza which will start from April 18. The tournament was originally due to get underway on April 10.

The 59 matches will be played in six stadiums across the country at prime time of 4 pm and 8 pm IST and will be telecast live by SuperSport of South Africa where the tournament was shifted in view of security concerns in the wake of Lahore terror attack and IPL dates coinciding with general elections.

No comments: