Sunday, November 21, 2010

India named Team against New Zealand ODI and Test series South Africa

Gautam Gambhir will lead a young Indian team as regular captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been rested for the first two ODI matches against New Zealand.

Along with Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag have also been rested due to injury concerns. Both Tendulkar and Sehwag have a bit of shoulder problem and the Indian cricket board didn't find it wise to aggravate their injuries ahead of an important tour to South Africa.

Wriddhiman has been rewarded for his brilliant 178 not out against Assam in the just-concluded Ranji Trophy match. Murali Vijay will open alongside Gambhir in the absence of Sehwag and Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, the very experienced Yuvraj Singh and Saurabh Tiwary will comprise the middle-order.

The spin department consists of R Ashwin, Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja.

The pace bowling department will be spearheaded by S Sreesanth and supported by R Vinay Kumar, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar.

Team for first two ODIs against New Zealand:

Gautam Gambhir (captain), Murali Vijay, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Sourav Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Munaf Patel, S Sreesanth, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja.

Team for Test series against South Africa:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, S Sreesanth, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Pragyan Ojha.

No comments: