Monday, March 29, 2010

Mumbai on top, Delhi sets pace

Warner ton seals big win for Delhi

David Warner deflated the Kolkata Knight Riders by pummeling a blistering hundred to power the Delhi Daredevils to an emphatic 40-run victory on Monday. After Warner drove Delhi to 177-4, the Knight Riders succumbed to 137-9 off their 20 overs.

Warner smashed the second hundred of IPL 2010 to rescue Delhi, who slumped to 38-3 in three overs. The opener belted an unbeaten 107 off just 69 balls and was involved in a record 128-run fourth wicket partnership with Paul Collingwood, who cracked 53 in his first IPL appearance.

Chasing the steep 178-run target, Kolkata never got going as Delhi kept the scoring rate in check, which saw fall of regular wickets. Skipper Sourav Ganguly (five) was the first to perish. Young Mandeep Singh and Manoj Tiwary did not bother the scorers and when Chris Gayle, who was given a life by Virender Sehwag earlier, fell to Rajat Bhatia, it was almost curtains for the Knight Riders.

David Hussey struggled in his 32-ball 29 and Angelo Mathews (24) tried to up the ante but in vain. By the second half of their innings, the writing was on the wall.

Earlier, Warner set the Feroz Shah Kotla on fire by bludgeoning nine boundaries and five sixes after Delhi lost Virender Sehwag (eight), Gautam Gambhir (one) and Dinesh Karthik (zero). Warner though survived a scare when a return catch by Murli Kartik was turned down by the third umpire. Replays revealed that the ball had touched the ground before the bowler had grabbed it.

Gayle, who opened the bowling, removed Sehwag in the first over and then Charl Langeveldt, who replaced Shane Bond in the team, trapped skipper Gautam Gambhir leg before. Karthik then was cleaned up by Ishant Sharma. But through it all, Warner kept flourishing and did not change his game.

Warner was extremely well supported by Collingwood who played the perfect anchor and was dismissed in the last over by a sensational catch by David Hussey on the ropes. Collingwood hit 53 off 45 balls with the help of three boundaries and two sixes.

Delhi Daredevils 177 for 4 (Warner 107*, Collingwood 53) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 137 for 9 (Yadav 2-27, McDonald 2-37) by 40 runs

Sachin, Harbhajan power Mumbai Indians win over Deccan Chargers :

Mumbai Indians stayed on top of Indian Premier League (IPL) with a 41-run win over defending champions Deccan Chargers at the D.Y. Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai here Sunday.

Sachin Tendulkar struck a crafty 55 while Harbhajan Singh scored a fiery 49 off 18 balls as Mumbai Indians reached 172 for seven in 20 overs.

Fast bowlers Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga and off-spinner Harbhajan then picked up three wickets each to restrict Deccan Chargers to 131 all out in 17.4 overs after Rohit Sharma scored a fighting 45 off 28 balls.

Mumbai Indians 172 for 7 (Harbhajan 49*, Tendulkar 55) beat Deccan Chargers131 (Sharma 45, Malinga 3-12, Zaheer 3-21, Harbhajan 3-31) by 41 runs

Player of the match Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians)

Player of the match DA Warner (Delhi Daredevils)

No comments: