Friday, March 26, 2010

Uncapped Vinay Kumar in World Twenty20 squad

India named uncapped paceman Vinay Kumar in a 15-man squad for the third edition of the World Twenty20 championship in the West Indies next month.
Left-handed batsman Yuvraj Singh will mark his return to the national side after a wrist injury ruled him out of a test and one-day series against South Africa earlier this year.
Opening batsman Gautam Gambhir and left-arm paceman Ashish Nehra were included in the squad by India's selectors on Friday despite injury doubts over the in-form pair in an ongoing domestic Twenty20 league competition.
The 26-year-old Vinay is one of four pacemen in the bowling attack for the April 30-May 16 tournament spearheaded by Zaheer Khan. India are grouped with South Africa and Afghanistan in the league phase.
Among the notable omissions in the line-up are batsman Virat Kohli and fast bowler Ishant Sharma.
India won the inaugural edition in South Africa in 2007 but bowed out early in the tournament in England last year which was won by Pakistan.
 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender SehwagGautam GambhirSuresh RainaYuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan,Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Vinay Kumar, Dinesh KarthikRohit SharmaPiyush Chawla.

No comments: