Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Sachin, Dhoni, Sehwag nominated for ICC awards

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, senior batsman Sachin Tendulkar and opener Virender Sehwag are among the eight cricketers who have been nominated for the October 6 ICC Awards 2010. Eight players from four teams have each been nominated in three different categories for the award which is scheduled to be held in Bangaluru later this year.

Besides the Indian players, Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena will feature prominently in the long-lists for the awards. In addition, there are nine players who are nominated in two distinct categories.

Indian icon Sachin Tendulkar nominated in three categories.

The long-lists of nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year and this year it will be held in Bengaluru, India. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008).

No comments: